About Us
  Home > About Us > SAF Honors & Excellence

Presidential Field Forester Awards

Through presidential direction, eleven members (one from each of the eleven SAF districts) will be selected to receive an outstanding field forester achievement award. This process will assure that each region of the United States will be able to recognize an outstanding field forester.


The purpose of this award is to recognize foresters who have dedicated their professional careers to the application of forestry on the ground using sound, scientific methods and adaptive management strategies. Previous Presidential Field Forester Awards were presented to individuals who have displayed uncommon talent, skill, and innovative methods to achieve a record of excellence in the application of forest management.


Due to regional differences in both application intensity and regulations affecting forestry operations, the award recipients will be selected on a regional basis. Using the existing organizational structure, each Council member will be asked to select and/or endorse an outstanding field forester from the District they represent. The Council representative can use the state society chairs to nominate candidates and from those nominations select a nominee for recognition, or use any other process that would select a worthy candidate based on the selection criteria.

A short biographical sketch and photo along with the reasons for each recipient's selection shall accompany the nomination.

Due Date: May 15
Nominations must be submitted
to the Council Representative
in each respective district:

A list of council representatives and their contact information can be found by clicking here.

District I Alaska, Inland Empire, Washington State
District II Oregon
District III Hawaii, Northern California, Southern California
District IV Colorado/Wyoming, Intermountain, Montana, South Dakota, Southwestern
District V Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, North Dakota, Wisconsin
District VI New England, New York
District VII Allegheny, National Capital
District VIII Appalachian
District IX Great Plains, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky/Tennessee, Missouri, Ohio, Ouachita
District X Southeastern
District XI Louisiana, Mississippi, Texas


  • Must be a member of SAF
  • Must have practiced forestry for at least 15 years
  • Major portion of career must be in field application of forestry
  • Must be recognized locally or regionally by peers for excellence in field application of forestry
  • Understands the forest and uses science along with the adaptive management process to achieve landowner objectives and insure forest sustainability
  • Management intensity may range from very intensive applications to more extensive management regimes
  • May be from any employment sector


Selection will be finalized (by each district Council representative) and forwarded to the national office by June 1 along with each recipient's biographical information, the nomination letter, and a photo with reasons for selection. Recipients will be notified by July 1 to have adequate time to make plans to attend the convention for the ceremony.


Individuals recognized for the Field Forester Achievement Award will be announced and recognized at the national convention during the awards ceremony. Recognition will consist of a plaque. There will be no support for the recipients to attend the convention to receive their award, but each would be encouraged to attend.

Questions: Please contact Perly Heggi at heggip@safnet.org or (866) 897-8720 ext. 177.