Home > Forestry Professional > Policy/Law
Tool Box

The Society of American Foresters in collaboration with the Environmental Law Institute, American Forest Foundation, US Forest Service, National Alliance of Forest Owners, Plum Creek, and Southeastern Lumber Manufacturers Association hosted a Technical Symposium entitled “Examining the Effects of Responsible Forest Management on Watershed Health” on February 17th, 2012. The Keynote Speaker for the event was The Honorable Benjamin H. Grumbles, President of the Clean Water America Alliance and former Assistant Administrator for Water at the Environmental Protection Agency. The symposium featured three panels: Administrative/Regulatory, Legal, and Scientific. The speakers for each panel can be viewed below along with video coverage of the event and accompanying powerpoint presentations.

Earn 4.5 hours of Continuing Forestry Education (CFE) credits by taking the SAF "Examining the Effects of Responsible Forest Management on Watershed Health" Technical Symposium quiz online. Individuals may receive CFE credit for the Technical Symposium quiz for one year after June 18, 2012. The quiz is available online and in PDF format.

Administrative and Regulatory Panel

Rite Hite, Vice President of Public Affairs, American Forest Foundation

Jeff Vowell, Florida Forest Service
Alexandra Dunn, Executive Director and General Counsel of the Association of Clean Water Administrators
Rich Duesterhaus, Senior Advisor, Northeast Region, National Association of Conservation Districts
Natalie Roy, Executive Director, Clean Water Network.
Lynda Hall, Environmental Protection Agency, Chief Nonpoint Source Control Branch

Legal Panel

Chip Murray, Vice-President for Policy and General Counsel, National Alliance of Forest Owners

Per Ramfjord, Partner, Stoel Rives
Jon Devine, Senior Attorney, Natural Resource Defense Council
Richard Davis, Principal, Beveridge and Diamond
Kirsten Nathanson, Partner, Crowell Moring

Keynote Address:

The Honorable Benjamin H.  Grumbles, President, Clean Water America Alliance
Former EPA Assistant Administrator for Water

Scientific Panel

Dr. Paul Adams, Oregon State University

Dr. Matthew McBroom, Assistant Professor of Hydrology, Stephen F. Austin University
Dr. Stephen Schoenholtz, Professor of Forest Hydrology and Soils, Virginia Technological University
Dr. Rhett Jackson, Professor of Hydrology, University of Georgia
Maryanne Reiter, Hydrologist, Weyerhaeuser Company
Dr. George Ice, Principal Scientist, National Council for Air and Stream Improvement.
Liz Dent, Oregon Department of Forestry

Closing Remarks:

Michael Goergen Jr., Vice-President and CEO, Society of American Foresters
Dave Tenny, President and CEO, National Alliance of Forest Owners.

Weekly Update
Join our discussion forum
May 5, 16
Conservation Easements: Drafting, Compliance, Appraisals, Tax Benefits & Ethics
(show/hide details)

May 12, 16
NH Timber Harvesting Law
(show/hide details)

May 19, 16
NH Timber Harvesting Law
(show/hide details)

links 111th House Forestry-Related Bills

111th Senate Forestry-Related Bills

National Bill Information and Status

US House of Representatives

US Senate

White House Council on Environmental Quality

US Forest Service - Law Enforcement

Locate Congressional Members

Buyers Guide Managing Forests because Carbon Matters: Integrating Energy, Products, and Land Management Policy – SAF Task Force Report and Supplement to the Journal of Forestry, October/November 2011

Forest Policy Guidebook

State Legislative Resources & Forestry Agencies

State Policy Activity

State of America's Forests

SAF Climate Change Task Force Report

Profiles of State Programs for Licensing, Registration, and Certification of Foresters in the United States — SAF Report

Policy Update Archives