About Us
  Home > About Us > SAF Structure

What is the House of Society Delegates?

The House of Society Delegates (HSD), established in 1966, is the organizational body within the Society comprised of a delegate and alternate delegate from each state society, the chair and vice-chair of the National Student Congress, and the chair and vice-chair of HSD. HSD meets once a year for two days just prior to the SAF National Convention.

How was HSD formed?

As the Society grew, communications became more complex and local SAF leaders wanted another avenue, in addition to Council, through which the ideas and concerns of SAF members could be voiced. A meeting of local leaders to accomplish these goals was envisioned and its organization debated for a number of years prior to its official establishment. During the mid-1960s, informal meetings with no prepared agendas took place among the leadership of the Sections.

In 1965, the Western Forester reported that William H. Larson of the Puget Sound Section (now Washington State Society) suggested, at the 1965 National Convention in Detroit, a "two-house system of Society government" for SAF. On September 14, 1966, the House of Section Delegates was officially established and, that year at the SAF National Convention in Seattle, Washington, the first meeting of all the chairs of the SAF Sections was held. During the late 1970s and early 1980s, as various Sections voted to become individual state, multi-state or intrastate societies, the name was change to the House of Society Delegates.

The goals and objectives of the HSD have varied slightly over the years with some broadening of the issues the HSD addresses, and the depth at which they are discussed. However, the greatest evolution of HSD is how it is viewed with the Society. What began as an isolated discussion group has become an integral part of SAF.

What are the Goals of HSD?

The HSD was established to serve as:

  • a means for members (as represented by their delegates) to work in partnership with Council and national office staff on SAF and professional affairs, and to identify and forward forest policy issues for national office consideration;
  • a channel of communication between state societies, National Student Assembly (NSA), Council, and national office staff;
  • a forum for exchange and discussion of ideas and information to improve SAF and the forestry profession at the national, state, chapter, and student chapter levels.

What is the Role of the HSD Officers?

The HSD chair prepares the agenda for and moderates the annual meeting and conference calls, and keeps HSD recommendations updated. The chair also attends all Council meetings as a nonvoting participant. The HSD chair serves a one-year term.

The chair-elect serves as head of the nominating committee, assists the chair during conference calls, and assists with parliamentary procedure during the meeting. The chair-elect serves a one-year term then serves as HSD chair for one-year.

What Do Delegates Accomplish at an HSD Meeting?

At the HSD meeting, delegates:

  • review and recommend priorities for the policies and programs of SAF, including new or proposed programs, and discuss the long-range goals of the Society;
  • recommend to the Council proposals for making SAF more effective in carrying out its responsibilities to its members, the profession, and society;
  • recommend to the Council an agenda of forest policy issues for national consideration;
  • facilitate the exchange of information among state societies and with national office staff, Council, and national committees and task forces.

What is the Convener System?

HSD established the convener system in 1995 in an effort to improve communication within HSD. In this system, a group of conveners agree to call five or six state society chairs throughout the year. The topics of discussion range from HSD agenda-setting to "hot issue" identification. The conveners, along with the HSD officers, Student Representative to Council, and national office staff participate in conference call throughout the year. During the conference calls, the conveners discuss the HSD agenda and issues brought forward during their contact with the state society chairs.

HSD Charter

Who are the past chairs of HSD?

1966     William H. Larson
1967     William Rutherford, Jr.
1968     Benjamin B. Stout
1969     Ben M. Swendsen
1970     Paul W. Easterbrook
1971     T. W. Curtin
1972     Robert H. Clark
1973     Spencer T. Moore
1974     Curtis H. Bauer, Jr.
1975     Kenneth L. Delfino
1976     R. Rodney Foil
1977     David W. Molinaro
1978     Stanley E. Blinks
1979     A. Temple Bowen, Jr.
1980     Donald R. Theoe, CF
1981     William H. Banzhaf, CF
1982     Dennis C. LeMaster
1983     Malcolm R. Dick, Jr.
1984     Albert J. Childs, Jr.
1985     Thomas Ostermann
1986     J. Patrick McElroy
1987     John J. Vrablec
1988     Quentin P. Mack
1989     Robert A. Stine
1990     Kent P. Connaughton
1991     Zane J. Cornett
1992     Clark W. Seely, CF
1993     Steven D. Laursen
1994     Stephen D. Hobbs
1995     Tom L. Thompson
1996     Valerie A. Luzadis
1997     David A. Cleaves
1998     Timothy A. Kaden, CF
1999     Michael A. Virga, CF
2000     Stephanie A. Brown, CF
2001     Rod E. Brevig, CF
2002     Michael B. Lester, CF
2003     Gary Schneider, CF
2004     Nancy Peckman, CF
2005     Rod E. Brevig, CF/CFA
2006     Charles Lorenz, CF
2007     Craig Vollmer, CF
2008     Ken Jolly
2009     Gary Vander Wyst, CF
2010     Tamara L. Cushing
2011     E.Lynn Burkett
2012     Andrew J. Hayes, CF
2013     Donald L. Grebner, CF
2014     Anne E. Heissenbuttel
2015     Timothy R. Phelps